2024 Iowa Caucus: GOP picks Trump, Dems begin process

By: Matt Scher, [email protected]

Humboldt, IA – The 2024 Iowa Caucuses took place yesterday with Republicans choosing Former President Donald Trump as the party’s front runner and Democrats beginning the process with their presidential preference cards.

Trump easily won Iowa’s Republican caucuses at 51 percent of the vote. Florida Governor DeSantis finished second, and former U.N. Ambassador Nikki Haley finished third.

Locally in Humboldt County, Trump received the most votes of the 443 total GOP caucus voters with 313. DeSantis received 49, followed by Vivek Ramaswamy with 40, Haley with 39, and Ryan Binkley with 2. Chris Christie and Asa Hutchinson did not receive any votes.

Humboldt County GOP Caucus Coordinator Erik Underberg spoke about the 2024 turnout.

He says that the Republican Convention for Humboldt County is Feb. 17, but the time and place has yet to be determined. Humboldt County Democrats also convened Monday night, although selecting a primary winner will not occur until later.

That was Chair of the Humboldt County Democrats Joe Hadar. Results for the presidential preference cards will be announced Mar. 5.