Two incumbent Humboldt County Supervisors fall in Primary Election

By: Matt Scher, [email protected]

Dakota City, IA – Results from Tuesday’s primary election are in.

The Republican primary for Humboldt County saw three contested races result in two incumbents on the county’s Board of Supervisors’ members being unseated.

Incumbent County Supervisor for District 4 Erik Underberg lost a close primary race to challenger Mike Carpenter 87-74 and Supervisor for District 5 Dave Lee was unseated in the primary by Bob Rasmussen in a 106-61 vote.

At the Federal level, U.S. Representative for Iowa’s District 4 Randy Feenstra won his primary Tuesday against Republican challenger Kevin Virgil. The Associated Press called the race at 9:10 p.m. Feenstra is looking to win his third term in Congress after unseating Steve King in a primary in 2020.
This win sets up a 2022 rematch with Democrat Ryan Melton where Feenstra beat Melton by a 67%-30% margin.

All other races in the primaries within Humboldt County were unopposed. The voter turnout in Humboldt County was 9.52% with 637 ballots cast out of 6,688 registered voters.

The General Election is Tuesday, Nov. 5.